

Minutes of the 110th Annual General Meeting of the Deal, Walmer, Sandwich and District Scout Council held on Thursday 16th June 2022 at The Royal Marines Association, 37 The Strand, Walmer CT14 7DX at 19.30

- 1. **Welcome:** Heather Rowell (Chairman) opened the meeting and welcomed the honoured guests, friends, young people and everyone present.
- 2. **Apologies** were received from: Shirley Smith (Aquila), Lawrence Smith (5th), Chris Hardy (9th), Barbara Rains (SAS), Isobel Myers (12th), Colin Tappenden (District), Jayne Richardson (5th), Robin Lukehurst (8th), Graham Baker (10th), Dean Harding (County Commissioner).

Present: Paul Hadaway (DC), Heather Rowell (District), Kate House (District Treasurer), Cathy Betts (District Secretary), Charlie Rowell (DDC), Mavis Marsh (5th), Peter Marsh (5th), Pete Bodman (County), Emma Bodman (10th), Chris Rackham (1st & Fellowship), Erin Harwood (1st), Yolanda Crews (1st), William Rackhm (DSL), Ian Mackenzie (DSL), Chris Harrod-Green (20th (Aylsham)), Cassie Osborne (20th Deal (Aylsham)), Chris Jordan (SAS), Alan Noake (Appointments Secretary), Matthew Page (DYC), Liz Lukehurst (8th), Mark Little (ADC/GSL), Anne Little (ADC), Alison Sims (8th), Matthew Sims (8th), Andrew Walker (District), Charlie Horne (District Admin/Archivist).

- 3. **Minutes of the Last Annual General Meeting** held on 23rd September 2021: The minutes were circulated and approved by all. Proposed by Mark Little and seconded by Alan Noake.
- 4. **Approval of the District Commissioner's Nomination for Chairman:** Paul Hadaway (DC) nominated Heather Rowell for the office of Chairman for the forthcoming year 2022/2023. Heather Rowell accepted the position.
- 5. **Acceptance of the Annual Report and Accounts:** The accounts, approved by the Executive prior to the AGM, were circulated.

With an amendment to line 2 under Receipts, amending 'Capitation to KCC (less 2020 rebate)' to 'Capitation to KCC (less 2021 rebate)' the accounts were accepted.

- 6. **Election of District Secretary:** Cathy Betts was proposed by Charlie Horne and seconded by Alan Noake. There being no other nominations Cathy Betts was elected.
- 7. **Election of District Treasurer:** Kate House was proposed by Alan Noake and seconded by Charlie Horne. There being no other nominations Kate House was elected.



8. Election of Members of the District Executive:

<u>Nominee</u>	Proposed by	<u>Seconded by</u>
Mavis Marsh	L. Smith	J. Marsh
Colin Tappenden	M. Little	A. Little
Chris Goodwin	A. Noake	C Horne
Ian Mackenzie	C. Horne	C. Betts
Alan Noake	C. Betts	C. Horne

Craig Nimmo District Scout Network Commissioner and Matt Page District Youth Commissioner are both appointed to the District Executive as Ex officio members.

- 9. **Appointment of the District Commissioner's Nominations** to the District Executive Committee: Charlie Rowell, Charlie Horne, Liam Smith and Scott McNamara. All accepted.
- 10. **Appointment of the Independent Examiner:** The district is below the required turnover to require an Independent Examiner. Heather Rowell advised Roger Miles has been appointed Scrutineer for 2022/2023.
- 11. **County Representatives:** Dean Harding, County Commissioner sent his apologies with the following message:

am afraid I won't get to tonight's AGM.

Please pass on my thanks to all of our Volunteers who provide fantastic Scouting for our young people, keeping young people actively engaged and giving them experiences and skills for life.

Thanks to the trustees for making sure the district is compliant and has plenty of money and being background super heroes.

I would like to thank Paul for taking on the challenge of DC and hope he stays involved in scouting in some way around the pressures of work, I expect he is counting down the seconds till midnight.

We are currently carrying out the DC search and will notify the district as soon as we find Paul's replacement.

Thanks so much to Charles for holding the fort for the interim period.

Take care everyone and I look forward to seeing many of you at KIJ

Have a great summer Dean (Dean Harding , County Commissioner – Kent Scouts)



12. **Chairman's Closing Remarks:** Heather Rowell thanked Paul Hadaway for his work as District Commissioner over the last year, saying it will be a challenge to find a replacement. Heather thanked everyone for attending.

The meeting closed at 19.57